R.I.P. Xbox

You know what I need? Another reminder: that I’m getting old, that I’m a late adopter, that I embrace aging electronics, and that I am an Xbox fanboy. I get all of these today with Microsoft officialy ending support for the Xbox. 

Sure it’s something that’s happened unofficially. Yes, it only applies to people who haven’t voided their warranties. It’s still a headline that made me feel the years and yearn for a beer.

It does force me to appreciate my Xboxes (Xboxii?) soldiering on as media centers, linux servers, and emulator arcade boxes. Really if you’ve ever opened up one of these consoles you just have to love how well constructed they are and how well they put up with abuse. It’s a stark difference to anyone who’s looked inside their 360 or had to do an X-clamp repair.

I feel like the Xbox has garnered as many fan boys as classic consoles like the Atari-2600 or the SNES. It’s well made, had some amazing software titles, and helped us all nurture our inner child. The Xbox is like a console giving tree. When I was younger it let me game overnight, as I grew up it helped me connect to gamers worldwide, and now it’s still my favorite modding platform. 

When I get home I’m going to treat them all to new thermal paste and maybe paint one or two.

One Response to “R.I.P. Xbox”

  1. GoogleIsSkynet Says:

    Five bros’ trash is one 1337’s treasure.

Leave a Reply

