Adam Elliot.

As a fan of film and animation I have a special place in my heart for artists that occupy both genres. Adam Elliot is an Australian artist who is responsible for the Academy-Award winning piece Harvie Krumpet. Recently he completed his first feature length film Mary and Max. I believe it actually opened at Sundance which I think is the first animated piece to open. The first piece I saw was a short called Uncle. This was the first of a trilogy of films about odd family members of his life. The AFI gave him an award for each of the trilogy.

His work has an endearing quality to it and really shows a mastery of the best parts of working in claymation. The expressive quality of characters and how to deal with the color absorbing medium of plasticine. I recommend watching Uncle first and then watching Harvie Krumpet. I’ll link up both though.

Leave a Reply

